IT AINT EASY !!

sunsetcouple2b

 

As I approach the final stages of the editing / proof reading of my debut novel SECOND CHANCES it has most definitely been a long and sometimes frustrating road. There were times when I wanted to give up and toss in the towel but kept going, thanks to my amazing Beta Reader, who constantly encouraged me.

You know what its like when you can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel, well he was most definitely my torch, even though he kept moving backwards making me push forward to follow the light. His encouraging words were like that early morning coffee that gives you a buzz and kick starts your day.

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I read and re-wrote not only sentences or paragraphs but whole chapters. It’s so true when writers say the finished version no longer resembles the original story… I can only hope that for every reader who purchases my debut novel they will enjoy reading it and hopefully leave me a review on the site they purchased from.

 

wpid-wp-1415287847391.jpeg

 

Well the printed proof has finally arrived through the post and although it is only the proof it is so exciting to hold in your hands the first book you have ever written. Now the task is to read through it and scrutinize each page to make sure its perfect for my readers.

Here is a comment I received from a reader who read the first draft of this story before the editing and re-writing started.

I really enjoyed reading SECOND CHANCES. At the beginning it all seems like a fairytale (their perfect lives almost annoying), but then all of a sudden the story shifts and gets a different feel, a different tone. I like how the characters evolve, how they change, It’s not your average “boy meets girl, wins her heart and they live happily ever after” kind of romance.
You also address some serious topics like depression, anxiety, mental/physical illness, nonetheless sending a strong, positive message – that it’s ok not to be ok sometimes, but you can learn from mistakes and overcome adversities, or learn to cope with them.

Marijike

 

I hope this comment will wet your appetite and encourage you to purchase SECOND CHANCES when it is published on Amazon and Createspace.

EXCERPT FROM SECOND CHANCES

S C

The feeling of her body surrendering to his touch excited and scared her all at the same time. She felt as if the essence of her life and soul were captured by his and united as one. There was no more her or him, just an infinite being of pure singularity

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “IT AINT EASY !!

Leave a Reply

