My New Year’s Day Guest Author

I’d like to introduce Independent Author,  Angela Stevens. A talented writer who is always ready to lend a helping hand to other writers in any way she can; editing, formatting and even book covers too. A lady of many talents, her best talent is being able to write both children’s stories and adult books that leave you quite breathless.  You can find her books on Amazon.

And now I’ll let Angela tell you a little about herself …

12443156_10153907543783678_544971052_n

I came to writing late in life- in fact so late I almost missed it. I never wrote as a teen or dabbled as a young adult. In fact I only put pen to paper- or rather fingers to keyboard – about three and a half years ago.

In my past life I was a teacher. For most of that time I taught the youngest children entering school. I had both a personal and professional passion for children’s stories. I loved Roald Dahl and classics such as The Secret Garden and Tom’s Midnight Garden.

For many years teaching children to read was my passion, but when I moved to the USA I left my chosen career and I had to find a new one. It took me a while to find my way but one day I had a notion to try my hand at writing. Starting with Adult Romances I then moved onto Young Adult/ new Adult Fantasies. Mariquita is my first journey into Children’s fiction.

12458679_10153913170908678_1000512571_o

George McGregor is the type of eight year old who spends his day wearing a cobbled together super hero costume. Armed with a secret power — a handy-dandy travel-sized pack of tissues — he saves the day and leaves the world tear and runny nose free.

When his super hero-ing becomes mundane, a chance wish on a dandelion clock brings a new friend into George’s life. But this friend has a secret and its discovery leads to a larger than life adventure in a smaller than life world. With Mariquita as his ladybug guide, George experiences the fun and danger of an insect’s life.

Mariquita is a feel good story that explores the meaning of true friendship. It offers a smorgasbord of humorous insect characters that kids will enjoy.

12468043_10153913173958678_166501044_n

And here is my review after reading Mariquita

I recently purchased an ebook copy of Mariquita and although this was a children’s story the cover and description caught my attention.

An amusing story that held your interest all the way through and I’m sure any parent reading this book to their child will enjoy the adventures of the insect world.

The author takes you on a journey into the insect world and you discover how each little creature lives and feeds and how they try to survive in a world where the bigger insects rule.

Mariquita is an adorable lady bug who makes a wish and when it comes true her life takes on a different turn as she views the world from her friend’s size and teaches him all about the insect world. This is where I learnt an awful lot too and it made me understand that to destroy one insect could have a devastating effect on so many others. It definitely gave you food for thought.

But it’s not all learning about the insect world, these little creatures get up to all sorts and there are some really funny bits and sad bits too, and real dramatic scenes that had me turning the pages quickly and a little apprehensively wondering who was going to eat who. The dung beetles were a comical pair and Sharna was too funny. I must just mention Skittle too, a little super hero in the making.

I did however find the Scottish dialect of one of the insects a little hard to follow but that never interfered with my enjoyment of the book and by the end I had my tongue wrapped around his words.

A feel good story that really warmed your heart at the end. I won’t give it away, but the ending was quite a surprise.

12468113_10153913173673678_902554901_n

Without giving away any spoilers here is a cute  snippet from MARIQUITA …

Angel’s abdomen flashed like Morse code as he fired questions at her. “What did he say, mi hija? Was he scared? Did he catch you? Were you put in a jar? Uff, did he try to squish you? Is he still tu amigo? Are you gonna change again? Can I bring my mi familia to watch next time, si?”

On and on, he went. Mariquita stood up on her back legs and put her middle legs to her hips, then she put her third pair of legs over her ladybug ears. “Hush now, you excitable firefly. You’ll wake up the whole insect world. No, no, no. You can’t bring your family, this is a secret, remember?”

STOP …

TAKE A MOMENT …. during this holiday season and share the adventures of MARIQUITA with your child or grandchild. I can guarantee both of you will love the journey.

CLICK ON THE LINKS BELOW TO OWN A COPY OF MARIQUITA

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015545A00?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B015545A00?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B015545A00?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

http://www.amazon.com.au/gp/product/B015545A00?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

Angela Stevens is most definitely an author to watch, her books hold your attention from the first page to the very end of the book. Her adult books are definite page turners too, and leave you quite breathless!

To make it easy for you to find her books here are her excellent covers to look out for on Amazon.

THE COCKTAIL SERIES – Dark N’ Stormy due for release in March 2016

12459651_10153913181598678_1550831269_n

THE VARGR CLAN TRILOGY

12463542_10153913176383678_1046242303_n

If you want to know more about Angela here are her website links

Website:         http://www.angelastevens.net/mariquita/

FB:                  https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAngelaStevens

Twitter:          https://twitter.com/angelastevens13

 

 

2 thoughts on “My New Year’s Day Guest Author

Leave a Reply

